Covid 19- Good, Bad, or Both?

Many of us are familiar with the Coronavirus, or Covid 19 and how it has affected our life as we knew it. There is no more going to the gym, going on vacation, or even just going out to eat with friends. Friends are needing to Facetime or play games together to be able to see each other. Even our schools are closed, leaving millions of families with cabin fever. Many families are resorting to homeschooling. Some schools are giving out worksheets or sites to go to. Some are even organizing online calls with the entire class. This allows the students to go to school, without actually going. Though it seems like this epidemic has a 100% negative effect, it truly has a good side. Since people aren’t driving around as much air pollution is clearing up worldwide. The usual murky waters of Venice are now crystal clear. Families are spending more time together and people are getting out more to get much needed Vitamin D and exercise. Neighbors are helping one another more. I guess it goes to show that for every Yang there is a Yin or with every rainstorm there is a rainbow.

My experience with Covid 19 has been good and bad. I can’t see my friends everyday, and I can’t even see some of my family. There is no more going out to places or traveling which my family and I love to do. One of the worst parts is that every summer we either go to our house in Mexico or go on long road trips like driving to Alaska. This summer we were going to go down to Mexico and go on a surfing trip but now we can’t do it. It has been my grandfather’s dream for a long time to do this trip with his family and, who knows when the next time he will be able to do it. Though there has been some bad things, there has also been good. One of the best things that has happened is that my baby cousin was born on St. Patrick’s Day! He is my uncle and aunt’s first child so he was extra special for our family. They were supposed to have him days before but couldn’t, due to the lack of space in hospitals. Also because there is no school my family and I have been going on more hikes than usual. We are trying to keep our social circle small so we have gone hiking once with friends and all the other time we have gone with my cousins and their mom. Finally, our family has done a lot more activities with each other. For example, last night we played Four Square for almost an hour. Also last week my dad and I built this really cool corner shelf and then my mom and I stained it. It cost the same amount as buying one but it was a lot more fun. What has your Coronavirus experience been like?

One thought on “Covid 19- Good, Bad, or Both?

  1. Hi Jaelyn,
    Times are unusual and your post shows both the good and the bad from a personal perspective. I love your emphasis on good things like family, slowing down and getting outdoors, but I am sad about your surfing trip.
    Thank you for sharing! Keep blogging, because what you say matters.
    Hugs,
    Mrs. D

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *